Scholarships, Fellowships, Honors

The Western History Association benefits from the generosity of donors who have honored the legacy of scholars, members, and individuals from the western history community. All scholarships, fellowships, and honors must be submitted to their respective award committee members by the deadline listed on each award page. The WHA office sends award notifications in August. 

Charles Redd Center Teaching Western History Award: a $1,000 annual award given to four K-12 Teachers to attend the WHA conference (Deadline: August 1)

Gordon M. Bakken Award of Merit: The Award of Merit is given annually to recognize the work and dedication of someone in the WHA. (Deadline: June 15)

Honorary Life Memberships: Lifetime Membership given annually by the WHA President

Indian Student Conference Scholarship: $500 to support Native American student attendees at the WHA conference (Deadline: June 15)

Louise Pubols Public History Prize: $500 award to offset the travel expenses for a public historian to attend the WHA conference (Deadline: June 15)

Sara Jackson Graduate Student Award: $500 to support graduate student research (Deadline: June 15)

Trennert-Iverson Conference Scholarship: $500 to support graduate student attendees at the WHA conference (Deadline: June 15)

Walter Rundell Graduate Student Award: $1500 to support dissertation research (Deadline: June 15)

WHA Graduate Student Prize: Travel support to foster graduate student professional development and enhance citizenship within the organization (Deadline: June 15)

WHA-Huntington Library Martin Ridge Fellowship: $3500 for a month-long research fellowship in residence at The Huntington Library in San Marino, California (Deadline: June 15) 

Western History Disability Studies and Disabled Scholar Award: $500 to support two graduate students who either are working in the fields of disability studies and western history OR identify as disabled and who wish to attend the WHA conference with financial assistance. (Deadline: June 15) 

Richard White/Beverly Purrington Dissertation Prize: $500 award for the best dissertation on the history of the North American West, in its varied aspects and broadest sense, defended and filed in the preceding calendar year. Authors must be WHA members. (Deadline April 15)

The WHA is located in the Department of History at the University of Kansas.

The WHA is grateful to KU's History Department and the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences for their generous support!

Western History Association

University of Kansas | History Department

1445 Jayhawk Blvd. | 3650 Wescoe Hall

Lawrence, KS 66045 | 785-864-0860