Autry Public History Prize

The Autry Public History Prize is awarded annually to media exhibits, public programs, or written works that contribute to a broader public reflection and appreciation of the past or serve as a model of professional public history practice in the history of the North American West. The award consists of a $1,000 prize and a certificate to the award recipient. The prize is made possible by the generous support of the Autry Museum of the American West. View a list of past recipients

Please note that academic non-fiction books and journal articles are not eligible for this award. Eligible projects may include, but are not limited to, the following areas. 

  • Media such as web pages, web-based video, audio, blogs, documentaries, and films
  • Public Programs such as lecture series, walking tours, oral history projects, outreach activity, educational offerings, workshops, etc.
  • Written Works such as research, reports, brochures, working papers, etc., or historical fiction (including books), that contribute to larger public history efforts to broaden public history understanding.
  • Exhibits in museums, cultural centers, historic sites, and other public venues

To be eligible for the award in 2019, the project must have been completed in 2018. When submitting material to the award committee (see below) for consideration please follow the Autry Prize Submission Guidelines

Award Submission Deadline: April 15, 2019

The award recipient(s) will be notified by September 15.

2019 Autry Public History Prize Committee

Josh Garrett-Davis, Chair
Princeton University

4700 Western Heritage Way
 Los Angeles, CA 90027

Roger Nichols
University of Arizona

 1110 James E. Rogers Way
 Tucson, AZ 85721

Ben Johnson
Loyola University

 Department of History
 Loyola University Chicago
 1032 W. Sheridan Rd.
 Chicago, IL 60660

The Autry Museum of the American West

The Autry Museum of the American West brings together the stories of all peoples of the American West, connecting the past with the present to inspire our shared future. Co-founded in 1988 by Jackie and Gene Autry and Joanne and Monte Hale, the Autry has grown to encompass a broad and inclusive representation of art, artifacts, cultural materials, and library holdings. In 2002, the Autry merged with Women of the West, a nonprofit organization highlighting the impact of diverse women’s experiences on the history of the American West. In 2003, the Autry merged with the Southwest Museum of the American Indian. The Autry's diverse collections include more than 600,000 artifacts, artworks, and archival materials that reflect the interconnectedness of cultures and histories in the American West.

Recipients of the 2018 Autry Public History Award

Past Recipients

2018 | Utah Division of State History, Utah State Historical Society, Utah Historical Quarterly, University of Utah, Utah State Capitol Preservation Board for "Utah Drawn: an Exhibition of Rare Maps"

2017 | Benjamin Johnson, Trinidad Gonzales, Sonia Hernández, John Morán González, Monica Munoz Martiñez at the Bullock Texas State History Museum for the exhibition Refusing to Forget.

2016 | Oakland Museum of California for the exhibition Pacific Worlds

2015 | South El Monte Arts Posse for ""East of East: Mapping Community Narratives", digital archive, Columbia University, 2015. Click here to read more.

Return to Awards

The WHA is hosted on the campus of the University of Nebraska at Omaha and benefits from the generous support of the College of Arts and Sciences.

Western History Association | University of Nebraska at Omaha | Department of History | 6001 Dodge Street | Omaha, NE 68182 | 

| (402) 554-5999 |

The Western History Association is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.