Log in




The Public History Committee is charged with enhancing the place of public historians within the organization and at the annual meeting. We do this through branded sessions that engage local public historians in our meeting cities and in sponsoring the annual public historians reception.


  • Co-Chair: Elyssa B. Ford, Northwest Missouri State University, 2021-2024
  • Co-Chair: Elizabeth Bass, Oklahoma Historical Society, 2022-2025
  • Kristin Ahlberg, U.S. Department of State, 2022-2025
  • Brigida Blasi, University of Wyoming, 2022-2025
  • Joshua Garrett-Davis, The Huntington Library, 2022-2025
  • Andrew Gustafson, Johnson County Museum, Overland Park, KS, 2021-2024
  • Eric Nystrom, University of Nevada-Reno, 2023-2026
  • Jay Price, Wichita State University, 2021-2024
  • Sandra Rebok, University of California, San Diego, 2023-2026
  • Chantel Rodríguez, Minnesota Historical Society, 2023-2026
  • Joel Zapata, Oregon State University, 2021-2024

Ex-Officio Roles:

  • Bill Bryans, Oklahoma State University, retired
  • Rebecca Hunt, University of Colorado Denver, retired
  • Jeremy Johnston, Buffalo Bill Center of the West
  • Gregory E. Smoak, University of Utah

Western History Association

University of Kansas | History Department

1445 Jayhawk Blvd. | 3650 Wescoe Hall

Lawrence, KS 66045 | 785-864-0860 

The WHA is located in the Department of History at the University of Kansas. The WHA is grateful to KU's History Department and the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences for their generous support!