Indian Student Conference Scholarship

Two $500 annual awards will be given to Indian students, undergraduate, M.A., or Ph.D., to help lessen the burden of costs to attend the annual Western History Association. In addition, the cost of conference registration and tickets to the WHA opening reception, graduate student reception, Presidential luncheon, and Indian Scholars luncheon will be included in the award. To be considered for this award, send a letter of interest and a letter of support from a faculty advisor to each member of the committee listed below.

2017 Committee

Elise Boxer - Chair

Department of History

East Hall

University of South Dakota

414 E. Clark St.

Vermillion SD 57069

Rosalyn La Pier

32 Campus Drive

Department of Environmental Studies

University of Montana

Missoula, MT 59812

Heather Daly
2285 Cottle Avenue
San Jose, CA 95125


2016 | Alaina Roberts

2015 | Vanessa Esquivido-Meza and Tiffany Hale

2014 | Jameson R. Sweet

2013 | Margaret Huettl and Farina King

2012 | No Award Given

2011 | Maurice Crandall and Alessandra La Rocca Link

2010 | Angel Hinzo and Julie Reed

2009 | Farina King and Josh Horowitz

2008 | Elise Boxer

2007 | Doug Kiel and Nicole Nesberg

2006 | Heather Ponchetti Daly and Joshua Reid

2005 | Jessica Pedro and Skott Vigil

2004 | Jeffrey Means and Rosalyn Rae LaPier

2003 | Elise Boxer and Kim Suina

Sponsors and Partners

The WHA is hosted on the campus of the University of Nebraska at Omaha and benefits from the generous support of the College of Arts and Sciences.

Western History Association | University of Nebraska at Omaha | Department of History | 6001 Dodge Street | Omaha, NE 68182 | 

| (402) 554-5999 |

The Western History Association is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.